Crafting Frustration

Yesterday, I went to visit a cardmaking acquaintance to try out her Big Shot. It was fun, and I could actually work the thing independently. Today, I feel a lot less good about myself, since my swap partner on an American cardmaking group received my card. She is the owner of the list the swap was for, and told me privately that the card was not appropriate for swapping. She did offer to teach me, and was relatively discrete in her criticism, but this is just the umpteenth time I notice how my hobbies aren’t working out. I tried polymer clay modeling yesterday, and noticed I couldn’t even make good sculptures with molds. This may be because it was my first attempt at sculpting except for a rather childish figure I made on Monday without the use of any equipment. After all, the problem was getting the models out of the molds without damaging them. However, I want to be able to be creative, and not at a six-year-old child’s level. Tomorrow at recreational therapy, I will be making an effort at making the embossed and die-cut images I created yesterday into an actual card. If this doesn’t work, I don’t know what does.

4 thoughts on “Crafting Frustration

  1. Don’t give up sweetie, it all takes time and remember the main thing is that you enjoy the crafting, hopping around blogs, following sketches and watching tutorials on you tube can be helpful, also try laying everything out on the card before sticking things down that way you can still change things if you are not happy with them but most importantly have fun none of the other stuff really matters if you enjoy making it.
    Lindsay xx

  2. Astrid, I am proud of you that you are determined to be crafty! I think your efforts so far are to be praised. I remember how my first efforts looked when I tried polymer clay. They indeed looked like a 3 year old made them, and I could see what I was doing! I think it’s amazing that you are determined to find the right craft for you.

    Your card making is coming along nicely. I did want to ask you though, have you considered learning how to knit or crochet? Since they are both more of a “hands on”type craft I think you would be able to catch on rather quickly, especially with knitting. It’s very easy to feel your way through a project. I’ve heard of many blind knitters and crocheters who are quite good. Just a thought.

    Keep up the good work with those cards. I look forward to seeing more from you. 🙂

  3. That was a cruel thing for your swap partner to say. Your card making will improve with time, just don’t give up. We all had to start somewhere. It would be my pleasure to be your swap partner for one of the next round of swaps.

    • Christine, sorry for approving your comment this late. I missed it I think. I believe we’re on the same group on which this happened. I don’t think the person who told me my card was inappropriate for swapping, was meaning to be cruel. She actually tries to teach me. And I can understand it if one partner sends a great card to gthe other and receives a poor one in return (now I know on that group swaps dont’wokr that way but suppose), this wouldn’t feel good even if they know the partner is a beginner. I’m actually quite happy with how this went. At first, I took things a little too personally, and out of that came this post.hristine, sorry for approving your comment this late. I missed it I think. I believe we’re on the same group on which this happened. I don’t think the person who told me my card was inappropriate for swapping, was meaning to be cruel. She actually tries to teach me. And I can understand it if one partner sends a great card to gthe other and receives a poor one in return (now I know on that group swaps dont’wokr that way but suppose), this wouldn’t feel good even if they know the partner is a beginner. I’m actually quite happy with how this went. At first, I took things a little too personally, and from came this post.

Leave a Reply

